Sunday, August 23, 2026

Heritage plaques installed at U Bein Bridge, PyinOoLwin’s buildings

 



The installation of ancient urban heritage emblem plaques took place on 20 August at the 175-year-old U Bein Bridge in Amarapura Township, and at more than a century-old historic buildings in PyinOoLwin.

The ceremony was attended by Union Minister for Hotels, Tourism and Cultare U Maung Myint and Mandalay Region Chief Minister U Myo Aung, who opened and inspected the bridge by strolling along it.

The U Bein Bridge was built in 1851 by clerk U Bein using timber from the Inwa and Sagaing palaces. When initially constructed, it featured 1,086 posts, a length of 3,987 feet, and seven resting pavilions. Furthermore, the Union minister installed plaques at more than 100-year-old historic buildings in PyinOoLwin, including Thazin Myaing, Cherry Myaing and Myaing Gyi.

Later in the evening, the Union minister met hotel entrepreneurs at the Shwe Nan Htike Hotel to discuss and provide guidance on matters concerning the development of the PyinOoLwin destination.

TWA/ZN

#TheGlobalNewLightOfMyanmar

No comments:

Post a Comment