Monday, May 15, 2017

About 6,000 heritage buildings exist in nine townships in Yangon

 May 14, 2017
YANGON has about 6,000 heritage buildings in nine townships including downtowns, according to a survey conducted by the Yangon Heritage Trust, a non-governmental organisation founded by historian U Thant Myint-U to conserve historic buildings in the city.

Since 2013, the YHT has conducted a survey to collect data about heritage buildings across the city.

The numbers of heritage structures in Yangon reached about 6,000 after YHT finished the survey programmes in nine townships — Pazundaung, Botahtaung, Kyauktada, Pabedan, Lanmadaw, Latha, Kyimyindaing, Ahlon and Dagon.
The body is currently collecting heritage data in Bahan Township, gathering information about government offices and residential buildings that are more than 100 years old.

In cooperation with the Yangon City Development Committee and Royal Philips Corporation, the YHT will install a commemorative blue plaque at the Yangon Stock Exchange building located on Sule Pagoda Road in downtown Yangon on 16 May.

Ref; The Global New Light of Myanmar

No comments:

Post a Comment